DC with PLA

DC was a really fun experience for me. 

There weren’t a lot of seniors there, but I think we bonded a lot. We’re all looking forward to San Francisco.
Getting to the bus on Shortlidge Sunday morning through the rain and snow was kind of rough, but the drive down was nice. Lunch in Georgetown was delicious. I sat with Dennis Jett and we talked a little bit about my future plans. I also got the chance to pop out for a few minutes to talk to my friend from study abroad who goes to Georgetown. 
The Newseum was excellent. As a sometimes-journalist, I really appreciate how thoroughly the museum covered the issue and showed how important a free press is to society. 
Monday, the Capitol tour was pretty cool. It gave me a trifecta of Capitol tours in a three month period. At the PNC building, I won a large umbrella, and really appreciated the speeches. This summer, I worked at a lobbying firm, and hearing from the lobbyists for different firms was very interesting. My favorite moment was when I asked the Boeing lobbyist to talk about the NLRB ruling against Boeing for the South Carolina Dreamliner factory. This summer, one of our clients was the International Machinists Union, the plaintiff in the NLRB suit, so it was interesting to see how the other side was handing the issue. It was a rare opportunity. 
CSIS was a great treat, as always. I had the chance to see some people I hadn’t seen for months, and to hear the speakers, whom I had worked in close proximity to, but never really engaged with. They were both very interesting, and I will be going down to talk to them more over winter break on my #DCjobsearch2011/12.
Golden Corral was incredible. Simply delicious. Next trip, we should just go there. I’m amazed that one place can make so many different types of food. Seriously. 
Leave a Reply

DC with PLA

DC was a really fun experience for me. 

There weren’t a lot of seniors there, but I think we bonded a lot. We’re all looking forward to San Francisco.
Getting to the bus on Shortlidge Sunday morning through the rain and snow was kind of rough, but the drive down was nice. Lunch in Georgetown was delicious. I sat with Dennis Jett and we talked a little bit about my future plans. I also got the chance to pop out for a few minutes to talk to my friend from study abroad who goes to Georgetown. 
The Newseum was excellent. As a sometimes-journalist, I really appreciate how thoroughly the museum covered the issue and showed how important a free press is to society. 
Monday, the Capitol tour was pretty cool. It gave me a trifecta of Capitol tours in a three month period. At the PNC building, I won a large umbrella, and really appreciated the speeches. This summer, I worked at a lobbying firm, and hearing from the lobbyists for different firms was very interesting. My favorite moment was when I asked the Boeing lobbyist to talk about the NLRB ruling against Boeing for the South Carolina Dreamliner factory. This summer, one of our clients was the International Machinists Union, the plaintiff in the NLRB suit, so it was interesting to see how the other side was handing the issue. It was a rare opportunity. 
CSIS was a great treat, as always. I had the chance to see some people I hadn’t seen for months, and to hear the speakers, whom I had worked in close proximity to, but never really engaged with. They were both very interesting, and I will be going down to talk to them more over winter break on my #DCjobsearch2011/12.
Golden Corral was incredible. Simply delicious. Next trip, we should just go there. I’m amazed that one place can make so many different types of food. Seriously. 

Leave a Reply

