San Sebastian: Basque Trip Ever

So, last night, I got back from San Sebastian, Spain. Well-known as one of the most important food cities in the world, it is a beautiful city on the Bay of Biscay in Basque Country in northern Spain. I got there Thursday night, meeting my girlfriend in the Bilbao airport. San Sebastian has its own airport, but it’s more expensive to fly in to it. From Bilbao, it’s about an hour bus ride to San Sebastian. 

Basically, this whole weekend I ate the most delicious food of my life. As a food appreciator, I don’t say that lightly. I ate the best food of my whole life. Check my pictures on Facebook if you don’t believe me. While I like food, I usually don’t order things like fish because I’m not sure if I’ll like it and I don’t want to be stuck with something I won’t eat. 
With pintxos, basically extravagant tapas, that’s not an issue. I ate fish and tons of stuff I’ve never eaten before, like foie gras, because the portions were so small. 
After spending two days in San Sebastian walking around and an afternoon surfing that I’m still sore from, we went to Biarritz in France for a day. Back in the day, the city had been the hangout of the rich and famous, people like Frank Sinatra and others. It still has that style, but when we went there was a surfing contest happening and I was really amazed by the rocky coastline that created so many opportunities for great pictures. 
The next day, we headed to Bilbao to see the Guggenheim, which is basically the only thing to see in Bilbao. Jenna left that day, then I stuck around until the next morning before departing. 
In other news,
I had my Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell interview today. I suppose it went okay. Because it was over Skype and only fifteen minutes long I felt a little uncomfortable, but I hope I answered the questions asked suitably and completely. 
In other, other news,
I haven’t read my blogs all weekend so I’m not exactly sure what’s going on in the world. I’ll likely write another blog this week about what’s going on in the world. 
In other, other, other news,
This week, from today until next Wednesday, is crunchtime for me. I have a few papers due and tests to study for. Additionally, last week the Penn State Journal of International Affairs got off the ground a little bit. We sent out an email on the Poli Sci listserv soliciting applications for associate editor positions. So far, we’re gotten a few responses. The next step is opening for submissions from the academic community. I’m really excited about our progress. 
Until next time,
Eli
One thought on “San Sebastian: Basque Trip Ever

  1. Eli,
    I remember you telling me about the Journal before you left. Good Luck!
    I am jealous of all your traveling!
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

