Ich bin ein Berliner.

Berlin was so great. I’ve had the opportunity to travel to a lot of wonderful cities during my time in Europe, but this was the first city where I thought I could actually live. Coming up from the wonderful U-bahn at one of its downtown stops, I felt like I was in Washington, D.C. What one sees in Berlin is a city grappling with its Nazi and segregated Communist past by both remembering it (in the form of Checkpoint Charlie and the Memorial to the Murdered Jews, among other things), but also by attempting to get away from it as fast as possible. Our tour guide in Berlin noted that when he arrived 10 years ago, Berlin looked completely different. He said that if we came back in 20 years, we wouldn’t even recognize it. 

Of the Euro cities I’ve visited, Berlin was by far the cheapest. Going in to my European experience, I thought that prices would be pretty much the same everywhere. While that’s generally been the case, Berlin was the exception. I have some pictures up on Facebook of it, though not as many as I usually take when I travel. Berlin is so modern because of WWII, etc. that the dated architecture to snap photos of is few and far between. Maybe I’ll end up in Berlin some day; if only I could speak German. 
Today marks the beginning of Spring Break. We have off until Tuesday morning. I don’t have class on Tuesday, so I’ll be getting back a little later. I know many of you might be saying, “Dude, that’s a really short Spring Break!” You’d be right. The Czech Republic is the most atheistic country in the world and while they celebrate Easter as a spring festival, they don’t really go for the whole religious aspect. So, they don’t really see a need to take much time off from school. 
Still, in a few hours I’m headed off to San Sebastian in northern Spain. While it is supposed to rain the entire time, San Sebastian has things to do other than the beach. SS is a food mecca. Gastronomy and cuisine are integral parts of Basque, especially San Seb, culture. For those that know what Michelin stars are for restaurants, San Sebastian has 13 of them, more per capita than anywhere on the planet. So, basically, if all else fails this weekend, I plan on eating a lot. There are worse things. The Basque have their variant on tapas called pintxos. Google Image search them. They are the most beautiful, innovative creations you’ll ever see. I can’t wait to try them and take pictures of all of them. 
I’ll be back Tuesday night. Until then,
Eli
Leave a Reply

Ich bin ein Berliner.

Berlin was so great. I’ve had the opportunity to travel to a lot of wonderful cities during my time in Europe, but this was the first city where I thought I could actually live. Coming up from the wonderful U-bahn at one of its downtown stops, I felt like I was in Washington, D.C. What one sees in Berlin is a city grappling with its Nazi and segregated Communist past by both remembering it (in the form of Checkpoint Charlie and the Memorial to the Murdered Jews, among other things), but also by attempting to get away from it as fast as possible. Our tour guide in Berlin noted that when he arrived 10 years ago, Berlin looked completely different. He said that if we came back in 20 years, we wouldn’t even recognize it. 

Of the Euro cities I’ve visited, Berlin was by far the cheapest. Going in to my European experience, I thought that prices would be pretty much the same everywhere. While that’s generally been the case, Berlin was the exception. I have some pictures up on Facebook of it, though not as many as I usually take when I travel. Berlin is so modern because of WWII, etc. that the dated architecture to snap photos of is few and far between. Maybe I’ll end up in Berlin some day; if only I could speak German. 
Today marks the beginning of Spring Break. We have off until Tuesday morning. I don’t have class on Tuesday, so I’ll be getting back a little later. I know many of you might be saying, “Dude, that’s a really short Spring Break!” You’d be right. The Czech Republic is the most atheistic country in the world and while they celebrate Easter as a spring festival, they don’t really go for the whole religious aspect. So, they don’t really see a need to take much time off from school. 
Still, in a few hours I’m headed off to San Sebastian in northern Spain. While it is supposed to rain the entire time, San Sebastian has things to do other than the beach. SS is a food mecca. Gastronomy and cuisine are integral parts of Basque, especially San Seb, culture. For those that know what Michelin stars are for restaurants, San Sebastian has 13 of them, more per capita than anywhere on the planet. So, basically, if all else fails this weekend, I plan on eating a lot. There are worse things. The Basque have their variant on tapas called pintxos. Google Image search them. They are the most beautiful, innovative creations you’ll ever see. I can’t wait to try them and take pictures of all of them. 
I’ll be back Tuesday night. Until then,
Eli

Leave a Reply

