Washington DC: My Experiences. Blog Post Four

Currently, it is HOT in DC. As I sit here, temperatures outside are still hovering at 95 degrees, after reaching a high of 101 today. I was definitely warned abou the notorious DC summers before coming to the city, but I don’t think anyone could have imagined it would stay this hot for this long. They say thunderstorms are on the way soon though, which should cool things down a lot. 

Luckily, I am leaving DC tomorrow to come up to Penn State for Arts Fest. So, whether or not it cools down, I will not be there to find out. I’ve never been to Arts Fest, and I am very excited to see what the big deal is. It will be nice to see Penn State people. Let me know if you’ll be in town PLAers and we can meet up!
At work the past week, I’ve been working on updating the Leadership Academy website, and also working with some other interns on creating new scenarios for the student curriculum of the Seven Revolutions. 
Over the long weekend, I went to the Zoo, which was awesome. Then, I had the chance to eat Ethiopian food in the Adams Morgan neighborhood of the city. It is fantastic. If they opened up such a restaurant in State College, I have no doubt it would be very popular. 
For the 4th of July, instead of going to the Mall, which is totally exposed to the Sun, we went the the Georgetown Waterfront Park and had a picnic until the sun went down. It was very relaxing. In the foreground of my fireworks watching experience were the Washington Monument and the Kennedy Center, truly an awesome scene. 
I hope you all had a great 4th and hopefully I’ll see you at Arts Fest!
Leave a Reply

