Are the Seven Revolutions Dead?

Hey Gang,

Gary and I live on the same floor, and frequently, when I pass by, he makes me aware of bits of useful information. Usually, they relate to sports in some way or another, but last week he handed me his most recent issue of Time, turned to an article titled “The Boring Age”. Now, I took the magazine back to my room and put it on my desk. Gary came over to my room a few days later to inquire as to the location of his magazine. It was still on the desk. I hadn’t read it. 
At the time, he said something along the lines of “This thing really disproves the 7 Revs.” Today, I remembered he said that, and, myself being in need of additional blog posts, endeavored to read the aforementioned article. Great success was the result.
Found here, the article compares 2010 to the predictions made in 2001: A Space Odyssey. To summarize, we haven’t made much progress. No space cars, moon colonies, or anything of that nature. Basically, the author makes the point that “breakthroughs” we have made in the past few years are not game-changing to the same degree that previous ones have been. For example, how does the invention of the telephone compare to the invention of the iPhone? It’s really no contest. Old school telephone, hands down. Original television compared to 3-D movies and televisions? Same thing. 
That got me thinking. Can any advancements we achieve in the modern era really compare to those of the past? Can the original telephone compare to the creation of the wheel, or of fire? No. So, I propose that the Seven Revolutions should not be thrown to the side so hastily. All change is definitely relative. It is unfair to compare the Knowledge Revolution, the ubiquity of information due to the Internet, to the first written language, for instance. 
It does make sense however to realize the current revolutions in their historical context. Doubtless, we are making great progress in the modern era. The 7 Revs are examples of this. Sometimes though, it can be beneficial to look back at the numerous “revolutions” that provide the foundation for our current seven. Thus, I would like to posit that every era has had its own version of the Seven Revolutions, built on the developments made in the same areas in the previous time period. 
Leave a Reply

