The PLA Goes to Washington D.C.

This semester’s PLA trip was more up my alley. Don’t get me wrong. New York was a great experience in the fall. We really bonded as a class, and had an awesome time. D.C. was just as great, but the subject matter was more to my liking. 

Visiting the Holocaust Museum was a very interesting experience. I had been previously, but only to see a temporary exhibit about the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Having also been to the Holocaust Museum in Israel, Yad Vashem, I would say that the D.C. one was much more educational, while the Israeli one was more emotional. As a Jew, I found it very heartening to see so many non-Jews learning about the genocide that occurred, so that nothing of that nature ever happens again. In that same vein, I also really valued the discussion we had after our tour of the museum. 
Dinner that night was delicious, and Admiral Cohen was very informative.
The next day, the FBI and CIA tours were a rare glimpse into the world of secret intelligence gathering. Going into the weekend, I thought I wanted to work in the State Department, but after the CIA tour and Q&A session, that is where I want to be at the moment. 
I’ll get to the blog post about the CIA Gift Shop at a later time.
Thank you to everyone that made this great trip possible. I really appreciate all the hard work that it took. Dealing with the FBI and CIA can’t be an easy thing to do.
Cheers,
Eli
Leave a Reply

